
 
 

Conversion Application for Chemical Dependency 
Counselors 

 
This application must be returned to the Ohio Chemical Dependency Professionals Board.  It will not be 
considered complete unless accompanied by the appropriate fee.  Please give full and complete answers.  
Vague and/or incomplete applications will be returned, causing a delay in the recertification process.  
Intentionally false and/or misleading statements may result in denial or revocation of 
recertification. 

Please type or print legibly. 

For which credential are you renewing?  LCDC III  LICDC 
 

Applicant Name (first, middle and last)  

Maiden Name (if applicable)  

Date of Birth     SS #  -  -  

Certification Number    Lapse Date   
 
Preferred Mailing Address  (Please provide street number, street name, city, state and zip.) 

   

   

   

County  Is this a change of address?  Yes  No 

Home Phone  /  -   Work Phone  /  -  

FAX number  /  -   Mobile Phone  /  -  

E-Mail Address   

Would you like to receive correspondences regarding your application via email?  Yes  No 

Have you ever had a professional license/certificate reprimanded, suspended, 
revoked, surrendered or in any other way sanctioned?  If yes, please attach a 
written explanation.  Yes  No 

Have you ever been convicted of a felony?  If yes, please complete the felony 
questionnaire  Yes  No 

Do you currently live or work at least 51% of the time in Ohio?  Yes  No 
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CONVERSION APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND CHECKLIST 
 
Individuals who have completed the AODA written examination and are now licensed with the Board as an 
LCDC II or LCDC III may convert their license to a higher level when applicable.  Individuals must fulfill all 
eligibility requirements for the level to which they are applying. 
 
To Convert to the LCDC III: 
 
 ___ Individual must currently hold the LCDC II credential 
 
 ___ Individual must document completion of a bachelor’s degree or higher in a behavioral science.   
  Documentation shall be in the form of college transcripts or college diploma. 
 
 ___ Individual must complete 40 hours of diagnostic training and document these hours on the  
  Diagnostic Training Grid.  Verification of coursework must be submitted with this form and may  
  include certificates of completion, letters of verification and/or transcripts. 
 
 ___ Individual must submit the conversion application, appropriate forms and the $35 Non-refundable 
  Conversion application fee.  Check or money order should be made payable to Treasurer, State of 
  Ohio. 
 
To Convert to the LICDC: 
 
 ___ Individual must currently hold the LCDC II or LCDC III credential 
 
 ___ Individual must document completion of a master’s degree or higher in a behavioral science. 
  Completion of the Master’s Degree Grid is required along with submission of transcripts of  
  master’s or higher coursework. 
 
 ___ Individual must document two years (4,000 hours) of clinical supervisory work experience in the  
  AODA field, including two hundred hours of face-to-face clinical supervision.  Completion of the  
  Clinical Supervision: Supervisor Reference Form is required along with submission of a job  
  description signed by the individual’s supervisor. 
 
 ___ Individual must complete 30 hours of clinical supervision education and document these hours on 

the Clinical Supervision Education Grid.  Verification of coursework must be submitted with this 
form and may include certificates of completion, letters of verification and/or transcripts. 

 
 ___ Individual must submit the conversion application, appropriate forms and the $35 Non-refundable 
  Conversion application fee.  Check or money order should be made payable to Treasurer, State of 
  Ohio. 
 

___ Once conversion application is approved, individual must take and pass the Clinical Supervisor 
 Written Examination.  This examination is offered four times a year and requires an additional  
 testing fee be submitted. 

 
All requirements must be met in order for an individual to be approved for conversion.  All necessary 
forms for conversion can be accessed on the Board’s website at www.ocdp.ohio.gov or by calling the board 
office at 614-387-1110.  Upon submission and approval of the above items, the Board will convert an 
individual’s license to the appropriate level and issue an approval letter.  Additionally, the Board will issue 
a new credential that verifies that the individual is now authorized to practice at this new level. 
 
 

http://www.ocdp.ohio.gov/
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APPLICANT STATEMENT FOR NOTARIZATION 
 
I hereby affirm that I am of good moral character and that all information given herein is true and complete to the best 
of my knowledge and belief.  I authorize any necessary investigations and/or release of personal information to the 
Chemical Dependency Professionals Board and its agents.  I understand that falsification of any portion of this 
application may result in my being denied certification/licensure or in revocation of the same. 
 
I hereby affirm that I have read the Chemical Dependency Code of Ethics, and I agree to abide by this code.  (The 
Chemical Dependency Code of Ethics may be accessed at www.ocdp.ohio.gov or may be sent to an individual upon 
request.) 
 
I further agree to hold the Chemical Dependency Professionals Board free from any civil liability for damages or 
complaints related to any action within the scope and/or arising out of the performance of its duties, which it or any of 
its employees may take in connection with this application and/or failure to issue me said license. 
 
I understand that the $35 fee submitted herewith represents the non-refundable Conversion Application fee.  (A non-
refundable $20 fee will be charged for any check not accepted for deposit by the bank.) 

 
________________________________________________  ________________________ 

                              Applicant Signature            Date 
 
 

Subscribed and sworn before me this ___________ day of  _____________________, 20______ 
 
 
 

________________________________________________ ________________________ 
          Notary Signature         Date Commission Expires 
 
 
 
 

If paying via check or money order:      
 
All checks and money orders should be made payable to “Treasurer, State of Ohio.” 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Please return completed application, including required documentation and fee, to: 
 Ohio Chemical Dependency Professionals Board 
 77 South High Street, 16th Floor Columbus, Ohio 43215  
 614/387-1110 (phone)     614/387-1109 (fax)   www.ocdp.ohio.gov  

Email:  credentialing@ocdp.state.oh.us
 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
Date Received: Fee Paid: Check/M.O./C.C. #: 

 
Last Updated 06/10 
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Credit Card Payment Authorization Form 
 
 
 

Please check one:   Master Card  Visa 

Cardholder Name:  

Address:  

City, State, Zip:  

Telephone #:  

Email Address (for receipt)  

Credit Card Number:  

Expiration Date:  

CVV2/CID Code # (Three digit number on back of card):    

Payment Amount:  

Payment for (exam, application, etc):  

    

   
Signature  Date 

 
 

Credit Card Payments may be mailed, faxed, emailed, or phoned in to the Board office. 
 

Ohio Chemical Dependency Professionals Board 
77 South High Street, 16th Floor Columbus, Ohio 43215 

614/387-1110 (phone)     614/387-1109 (fax)   www.ocdp.ohio.gov
Email:  credentialing@ocdp.state.oh.us

 
 
 
 
 
 

This document will be shredded after your payment is processed. 
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