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NEW CERTIFICATION AND LICENSING REQUIREMENTS NOW EFFECTIVE 

 

In December of 2012 the 129th General Assembly passed HB 284. HB284 made several 

changes to the requirements and processes for certifying and licensing chemical 

dependency counselors and prevention specialists in the state of Ohio. These changes 

took effect March 22, 2013.  On March 22, 2013 Governor John Kasich signed an 

Executive Order instituting emergency rules to coincide with this new law change. 

 

The Board is now accepting and processing applications for certification and licensure 

under the new processes.  Please visit the Board’s website at www.ocdp.ohio.gov to view 

new requirements and download new applications and forms.  Applications received prior 

to 3/22/13 will continue to be reviewed and processed under the old standards.   

 

New Prevention Certification Requirements: 

 

 The Registered Applicant will now be a two year non-renewable status.  At the 

end of the two year status individuals will need to advance to the OCPSA or 

higher to maintain a certification in the field.  Individuals who currently hold a 

four year status will not see a change to their status. 

 A new level of certification, the Ohio Certified Prevention Specialist Assistant 

(OCPSA), is now being offered for prevention professionals.   

 OCPS I and OCPS II application requirements have changed.   

 

For more information about these new prevention certification requirements please visit 

the following link:  http://ocdp.ohio.gov/plicensing.stm. 

 

New CDCA Requirements: 

 

 The CDCA formal application will now be a two phase process.  In phase one, 

applicants will submit 40 hours of education and receive a 13 month preliminary 

CDCA certification.  During this 13 month period, individuals will be required to 

complete phase two of the process by submitting a phase II application and an 

additional 30 hours of education.  Once phase two is completed a two-year 

renewable CDCA certification will be issued.  Individuals who currently hold a 

CDCA will not see a change to their status. 

 

For more information about these new certification requirements please visit the 

following link:  http://ocdp.ohio.gov/licensing.stm.  

 

New Licensing Requirements: 
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 LCDC II, LCDC III and LICDC application requirements have changed.  New 

applications are now being accepted along with conversion applications for 

individuals wishing to advance levels.   

 Examination Waivers are now available to individuals already licensed with a 

scope to provide AOD services in the state of Ohio.   

 A new LICDC-CS level is now being offered.  Individuals who currently hold an 

LICDC will be automatically transitioned to the new LICDC-CS license.  Letters 

will be mailed to professionals indicating that their license has been updated.  

Please do not begin practicing as an LICDC-CS until you receive this letter 

from the Board.  Please allow two weeks for these letters to arrive. 

 

For more information about these new licensing requirements please visit the following 

link:  http://ocdp.ohio.gov/licensing.stm.  

 

For all other questions regarding these new processes, please contact the Board at 614-

387-1110 or credentialing@ocdp.state.oh.us.  
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